KDE to stream 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year ceremony on Sept. 9


  • Jason E. Glass, Ed.D., Commissioner of Education and Chief Learner

  • Sam Mitchell, Valvoline Chief Executive Officer

  • Andy Beshear, Governor

  • Jacqueline Coleman, Lieutenant Governor


The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) will stream the 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year ceremony. Winners of the elementary, middle and high school Teacher of the Year awards, in addition to the overall 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year, will be announced during the virtual ceremony.

Valvoline will present the 24 recipients of the Teacher Achievement Award with a cash award and certificate. The three Kentucky Teachers of the Year also will receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this is the second time KDE will hold the ceremony virtually and livestream it.


Thursday, Sept. 9, 2 p.m. ET

Watch Live:

Tune in on the KDE Media Portal.

4 views0 comments