Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade

On Friday, June 24, 2022, the Supreme Court of the United States overturned Roe v. Wade, allowing states to ban abortions. This decision comes after a long wait following the unprecedented leak on May 2, 2022, of a February 10, 2022 draft revealing the Supreme Court's intentions to overturn the 1973 decision that granted federal protections for abortion.

Since the leaked documents pro-abortion protestors have been steadfast in their efforts to sway the Supreme Court Justices to change their mind by staging never-ending protests outside six of the Justices' houses, although it is against the law to do so.

In addition to the protests dozens of pro-life pregnancy centers were vandalized, Catholic churches were targeted for protests and unrest, and a suspect was charged with attempted murder for allegedly trying to assassinate Justice Brett Kavanaugh.

The ruling was split 6-3 along ideological lines, with the court's conservative wing in the majority and the three liberals — Stephen Breyer, Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan — in dissent. “With sorrow—for this Court, but more, for the many millions of American women who have today lost a fundamental constitutional protection—we dissent,” the justices wrote.

In the majority ruling, Justice Samuel Alito wrote: "Roe was egregiously wrong from the start. Its reasoning was exceptionally weak, and the decision has had damaging consequences. And far from bringing about a national settlement of the abortion issue, Roe and Casey have enflamed debate and deepened division.

“The Constitution does not prohibit the citizens of each State from regulating or prohibiting abortion. Roe and Casey arrogated that authority,” the ruling reads. “The Court overrules those decisions and returns that authority to the people and their elected representatives.

Many states have already made their stance on abortion before the Supreme Court ruling.

The states where abortion will remain legal include California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.

The 19 states that already have laws with tight restrictions on the procedure are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. It is expected to see laws banning abortion completely to quickly come into effect in these states.

This is a developing story. Check back for more details.

66 views0 comments