Submitted by Conrad Doyle
HB-101 amends KRS 116.045 to permit a process of voter preregistration for persons at the minimum age of 16 years and requires the State Board of Elections to promulgate administrative regulations to provide for preregistration and subsequent registration confirmation.
The bill amends KRS 116.046 to direct schools and the county clerk to inform students and school personnel, not less than once each school year, about the availability of preregistration and registration forms and directs the State Board of Education to implement programs of public education (not less than once during each school year) regarding elections, voting procedures, and election fraud, and which shall include sophomores.
It directs school districts to submit an annual report to the Legislative Research Commission regarding student voter preregistration and registration. THE BILL ALSO PROVIDES (REQUIRES) THAT EACH APPLICATION FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE DRIVER’S LICENSE SHALL BE A SIMULTANEOUS APPLICATION FOR VOTER PREREGISTRTATION AND REGISTRATION, UNLESS DECLINED BY THE APPLICANT.
In plan language: it will become law that, in addition to all of the other requirements, public educators will be required to teach the “politics” of the voting process and report back to state officials showing compliance.
Additionaly, it is not left to the memory of the 16-year-old to ask for the registration application, so it is an automatic registration that occurs when they apply for their drivers license.
Some, not all, 16-year-olds lack the ability to bring books home from school to do their homework, while others forget to grab their coats off the back of their chairs. But, not to worry, this registration is automatic, so if the adults in the teens’ life forget to tell them, no harm, no foul.
This makes a person wonder about other laws that affect our Tide Pod
Drivers License: At age 16, teens can apply for a learner’s permit in the state of Kentucky.
FULL LICENSE: At age 17, teens are eligible for a full, unrestricted license if they have held an intermediate license for at least six months and have taken a certified driver education course, Without driver education, teens can get an unrestricted license at age 18.
Marriage: KRS 402.020 was amended so that no one under the age of eighteen (18) years old can legally marry in Kentucky, except that a seventeen (17) year old may petition a district or family court for permission to do so. In 2018, Kentucky’s S.B. 48 made it illegal for anyone 16 and younger to marry. A 17-year-old seeking to marry would need the approval of a family court or district court judge in addition to that of a parent.
Labor Laws: For Minors under 16: 8 hours work per day and 40 in a week are permitted when school is not in session. When school is in session, 3 hours of work are allowed per schoolday (8 on nonschool days), and 18 per week. Work is prohibited during these hours: 7 p.m. (9 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day) to 7 a.m.
Smoking: The Tobacco-Free Youth Act would help stem the tide of alarming Kentucky youth nicotine trends by making it unlawful for retailers to sell tobacco products to anyone younger than 21. Fed. laws, if passed, will make it illegal for anyone under 21 to buy or use any tobacco product – including cigarettes, cigars and e-cigarettes and vaping.
Alcohol: Forget it until you’re 21, unless your parents give it to you. Careful though, if you do something illegal while consuming it, your parents could be arrested for contributing to the deliquency of a minor.
Guns: KY is now a constitutional carry state, so concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm without a license/permit.
Boats: You need to be at least 18 years old to rent and operate a boat.
There are many more examples but, you get the point. Favorite Tide Pod flavor?
By the way, all of this information and a multitude more can all be found on KY.GOV. and is my source of information.