top of page

You Be The Chemist 2020 Regional Challenge



The You Be The Chemist regional challenge took place on Saturday, February 29, 2020 at the Meade County College and Career Center. This year, eight teams of 4 participated in the regional competition, with four of the teams from Meade County. The top two teams advance to the state competition where they will complete video submission for judging. From there they have the opportunity to advance to the You Be the Chemist National Competition, in Houston Texas. The competitors came from three separate Kentucky counties: Hardin, Meade, and Jefferson. The competitors by county were:

 Jefferson County Logan Strong, Khoa Tieu, Isaiah Taul, Kristin Garrett, Wilson Tang, Brandon Tran, Elisa Sokoli, Tammery Phan – School Advisor Leslie Gividen. Sponsor: Dow Chemical.

 Hardin County Karen Barredo Rivera, Charles Cox, Michelle Rocha, Shyann Robbins, Taylor Barno, Seojun Lee, Braydon Scott, Bailey Seadler, Nazara Morgan, Jocelyn Seadler, Gautam Singh, and Harper Taylor – School Advisor Melissa Goes. Sponsor: Dow Chemical.

 Meade County Ramie Staples, Tre Sadler, Anthony Guarino, Catherine Campbell, William Young, Lauren Witt, Payton Durbin, Sophia Vowels, Felix Comings, Max Allen, Emma Goins, Ethan Bruce, Rylee Snider, Kaylee Welch, Emilee Staubs, Paul Slack – School Advisor Becky Hacker. Sponsor: Monument Chemical.

 The competition moderator was Darren Carman (Meade Co. Schools), the judges were Tiffanie Lucas from Dow Chemical, and from Monument Chemical, Conner Sexton, Lauren Hamilton, Allie Greenwood and Alexandra Bledsoe. Amy Berry (Meade Co. Board of Education), Autumn Mattingly (Meade Co. Schools), and Melissa Tabor (Meade Co. Schools) hosted and supported the competition and judges scoring.

 The competition was fierce as the students answered very difficult questi